TNB allocates RM10m scholarships for underprivileged students

The scholarships will be given to those furthering their studies in the STEM stream


Tenaga Nasional Bhd (TNB) has launched its “My Brighter Future” scholarship programme specifically for 1,000 students from low-income families.

TNB chairman Tan Sri Leo Moggie Irok said the scholarships will be given to those furthering their studies in the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) stream.

He said the funds will be channelled directly to the university instead of the students and each student will receive RM10,000 annually until the end of their studies.

“The allocation is specifically for tuition fees, accommodation and allowances. If a student has three years to their course, they will receive RM30,000 in total, and those with four years will receive accordingly,” he said at the launch of the scholarship pro- gramme in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

According to Leo Moggie, since 1993 through the Yayasan Tenaga Nasional, the company has expanded over RM1 billion in scholarship loans to 11,000 students.

“The launch of ‘My Brighter Future’ which is catered specifically for the low-income families is to allow these children to continue their studies in local public universities (IPTA) and become the breadwinners,” he said.

Nik Aimee Aizal Nik Ahmad, one of the scholarship recipients, said he plans to pursue his studies in the Bachelor of Building Surveying (Hons) course.

He said he received the scholarship when he opened the Student Admission Application System or UPU website earlier this month to check his acceptance into his institution of choice.

“There were two offers available to me on the screen, and when I opened the second one, it showed that I was offered this scholarship from TNB,” he said.

The Education Ministry has collaborated with TNB to determine which students will receive the scholarship for any first semesters between 2018 and 2019 in IPTA.

To be eligible, household income is also cross-checked with eKasih’s data-base which is controlled by the Implementation Coordination Unit at the Prime Minister’s Department.

The scholarships are offered to students furthering their studies at the Universiti Teknologi Mara, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak, Universiti Malaysia Sabah, Technical University of Malaysia Malacca, University Malaysia Pahang, Universiti Malaysia Perlis and Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia.