Wan Azizah leads swearing-in of 13 Cabinet ministers

The prime minister is expected to name the rest of his Cabinet line-up in stages


Malaysia’s first female Deputy Prime Minister (DPM) Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail led a line-up of 13 Cabinet ministers in taking their oath of office, loyalty and secrecy before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V at Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

The swearing-in, which took place at the Singgahsana Kecil (Minor Throne Room) of the palace, was witnessed by Prime Minister (PM) Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. Also present was his wife, Tun Dr Siti Hasmah Mohamad Ali.

The ceremony began at 5.45pm with the acceptance of the instrument of appointment by Dr Wan Azizah, who is also PKR president, as the DPM and minister of women and family development.

She then took her oath and signed the official instrument of appointment, witnessed by Chief Justice Tun Raus Sharif and Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa.

Then, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, DAP secretary general Lim Guan Eng and Amanah president Mohamad Sabu took their oath together as the home minister, finance minister and defence minister respectively.

Simpang Renggam MP Dr Maszlee Malik, Titiwangsa MP Rina Harun and PKR deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali took their oath together as the education minister, rural development minister and economic affairs minister respectively.

Subsequently, PKR Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin, DAP organising secretary Anthony Loke and DAP deputy chairman Gobind Singh Deo took their oath together as the housing and local government minister, transport minister and communications and multimedia minister respectively.

Then, Amanah deputy president Salahuddin Ayub, DAP vice-chairman M Kulasegaran and Amanah strategic director Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad took their oath together as the agriculture and agro-based industry minister, human resource minister and health minister respectively.

Dr Mahathir was sworn in as Malaysia’s seventh PM on May 10, a day after Pakatan Harapan won the country’s 14th General Election after defeating Barisan Nasional which had been in power for 61 years.

Dr Mahathir is expected to name the rest of his Cabinet line-up in stages.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Dr Mahathir, Dr Wan Azizah, the Cabinet ministers and their spouses were scheduled to attend a breaking-of-the-fast with the Agong. — Bernama