GE14: Polling stations close at 5pm

Polling in the 14th General Election closed at 5 pm today. The 8,253 polling stations had opened at 8 am.

The weather today was generally fine throughout the country except for thunderstorms in some places in Penang and Perak.

Among the leaders who voted in the afternoon were the Barisan Nasional candidate for the Rembau parliamentary seat Khairy Jamaluddin and the BN candidate for the Lembah Pantai parliamentary seat Datuk Seri Raja Nong Chik Raja Zainal Abidin.