MyPPP supreme council sacks Kayveas as president

MyPPP secretary general Datuk Mohan Kandasamy has confirmed that Tan Sri M Kayveas (picture) is no longer party president and member, following his sacking by the party’s supreme council.

Contacted by Bernama yesterday, he said the decision to sack Kayveas as MyPPP president and member with immediate effect was fuelled by the latter working against the interests of the party and Barisan Nasional (BN).

Kayveas had announced that he had resigned as MyPPP president, after holding the post for more than two decades, effective Monday on his Facebook and Twitter.

“This unanimous decision to sack Kayveas was made by the party’s supreme council this morning after the party’s disciplinary committee findings (that Kayveas acted against the party’s constitution) last night.

“Kayveas was not allowed to make any statement or attend any meeting with party members,” he said.

For now, Mohan said the party leadership would be helmed by senior VP Datuk Seri Maglin Dennis D’Cruz as acting president. The MyPPP party election is scheduled for June.

Mohan explained that the disciplinary action against Kayveas was mooted following a letter from BN secretary general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, instructing that a disciplinary hearing be held on Kayveas for making unilateral decisions on seat allocations.

Asked if MyPPP had received any resignation letter from Kayveas, Mohan said: “Nothing has been received officially. But I was told he had posted his resignation on his social media — Facebook and Twitter.” — Bernama