BN announces candidates in 5 states


Barisan Nasional (BN) announced its candidates for five states in Peninsular Malaysia yesterday — Selangor, Kelantan, Johor, Melaka and Negri Sembilan, as the party gears up for the upcoming 14th General Election (GE14).

So far, BN has unveiled its candidates in seven states, including the Federal Territories and Terengganu. Sarawak BN is expected to follow suit today.

In Selangor, the party offered 57 new faces to contest in the state’s 22 parliamentary and 56 state seats for the May 9 polls, including the youngest candidate from MCA, Lee Yee Yuan, 28, for Sekinchan.

For Kelantan, 28 BN candidates will be making their debut in state seats and two for parliamentary seats this upcoming GE14. BN state chairman Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed will be defending the Air Lanas state seat and Jeli constituency.

Meanwhile, Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin creates history for being the first Johor Mentri Besar to contest in both parliamentary and state seats. He is set to defend Pasir Gudang from incumbent Normala Abdul Samad, and the Permas state seat. The candidate lineup for Johor comprises 45% new faces, including Haliza Abdullah who replaces Special Affairs Department DG Datuk Dr Mohd Puad Zarkashi for Batu Pahat.

Melaka BN chairman Datuk Seri Idris Haron announced 14 new names out of 34 candidates contesting for 28 state and six parliamentary constituencies. The prime minister’s political secretary Wong Nai Chee will contest in the Alor Gajah parliamentary seat as incumbent Datuk Koh Nai Kwong is moving to fight for Machap Jaya state seat.

In Negri Sembilan, incumbent for the Jempol parliamentary seat Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad would not be defending the constituency and is replaced by Senator Datuk Salim Sharif. MCA Youth chief Chong Sin Woon would be making his debut in the GE14 by contesting in Seremban.