Malaysia-Indonesia showdown at IGT-PGM Championship

THE second clash between the Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Tour and the Indonesian Golf Tour (IGT) will take place in Indonesia on Sept 5-7, 2017, at the Riverside Golf Club in Cimanggis, Bogor, Indonesia.

The IGT-PGM Championship 2017 will bring together teams from Malaysia and Indonesia in a Ryder Cup-style tournament.

The inaugural event was held in 2016 in Malaysia at Kota Seriemas Golf and Country Club in Negri Sembilan, and Malaysia swept the honours, capturing both the Team (-26 PGM +66 IGT score line) and individual title (Ben Leong 10-under 206).

To make the second edition more exciting and dynamic for spectators and players, the Stroke Play format has been changed to a Ryder Cupstyle Match Play format.

The IGT-PGM Championship is the embodiment of an idea that came from discussions between PGM Tour chairman Tun Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid and IGT chairman Jimmy Masrin. Both individuals have been strongly supporting the development of golf in their respective countries.

“The idea is to bring together the golf community of neighbouring and similar countries, and to develop good golf competition between us. Ahmad Sarji and I have a common vision: Wishing to develop the game of golf in our respective countries, and our passion for driving our players to excel in this sport is the key reason we are having this friendly competition,” said Jimmy. “The format of Stroke Play is not as exciting as the format followed by the Ryder Cup, when only two opponents compete against one another. Match Play brings more excitement to each match and also brings out the best in  team spirit,” said Jimmy.

Malaysia and Indonesia will each  send 12 players to make up their respective teams. The Malaysian team’s selection will be based on the PGM Tour Order of Merit standings, while Indonesia will select eight from the Order of Merit and four will be captain’s choice.

R Nachimuthu, a veteran player with multiple victories (10) on the PGM Tour and PGM Tour Order of  Merit Winner in 2011, will captain the Malaysian team.

The Match Play tournament will consist of foursome, fourball and singles matches.

Over the first two days, there will be four foursome matches in the morning and four fourball matches in the afternoon.

“On the last day, we will play 12 singles matches. Therefore, in total there will be 28 matches, which means the teams are competing for a total of 28 points,” said Made Edward “Eddy” Juniyasa Putra, tournament director of the IGT-PGM Championship 2017.

The matches will be played over 18 holes per round and the winner will receive one point. In the event of an all-square finish, each side will get half a point.

The team who reaches 14.5 points wins the Championship. However, if both teams have 14 points, the winning team of the previous Championship shall retain the trophy.

The IGT-PGM Championship 2017 will also feature the event sponsor, Zurich Insurance Group Ltd, one of the world’s leading insurance firms.